kavbojke

traperice

farmerke

džíns

Jeans

I don’t know what to review anymore.  So I decided to review what I know and apply it to a post.

A few of the things I pride myself on knowing are a few languages.  These above all mean “jeans” in the languages I know.

The first is Slovenian.  I remember growing up and hearing it from my cousins who lived there.  It means cowboy pants.

Traperice is Croatian and means tapered pants.

Farmerke is Serbian and means farmer’s pants.

Džíns is how the Slavic languages spell “jeans” and how Bosnians say it.  It literally is pronounced “jeans.”

And capitalized Jeans is German. die Jeans since they’re a feminine noun

It’s funny to see how each culture views jeans.  Slovenians think they’re straight out of Texas.  Croatians wear them a little tighter and neater.  Serbians think they’re for farmers, which means they originated as something that could never be a nice garment that you’d wear to look well-dressed, since farmers were what they were named after.  That’s definitely different now, though.  Bosnians just adopted the word but spell it different.  And Germans just adopted the entire word and capitalized it.  Denglisch at its finest [Deutsch=German + English].

So what do all countries know?

This:

I’m pretty sure I knew this song before I reached the age of 6.  Overseas.  Everyone knew it.  The whole world has two things in common: jeans and this video.

Anyways, the idea here is that Levi’s are universal.  I imagine a campaign with a pair of jeans, spread out on a white background, and one word being on the top.  The word is “jean(s)” but in a different language.  Each ad only differs in the top line, which says “jeans” in a random language.  The meaning behind the series is that even though what they are called in each country changes, the Levi’s don’t because they are a universal language in the world of brands.  They’re Levi’s and they’re quality and appearance is constant throughout the globe, no matter what they may be called in each, respective country.

