I’m gonna try my hand at writing copy that would go next to an ad with not a lot too it. I remember Scott said if you don’t have much going on in a print ad, for example, you gotta put some copy in there [“usually” – Will].

I realized I don’t think I’ve tried to write copy for a pretend print ad this entire blog, so in reviewing this fact, I have decided to do it. [Just Do It -Nike…Go Forth- Levi’s….so many slogans just cemented into my brain for eternity].

Alright, here’s what I came up with…took a while to pick a starting point and go with it. I mean, I had no idea what to write about at first…then I couldn’t pick out of the ideas that came to me…then I realized none of the ideas were that cool so I waited for more ideas to come.  I’m pretty sure I was thinking about my Bio class or something and the idea of the Golden Ratio came to me.  It’s everywhere…even the Parthenon.

Wikipedia will explain this one better than I can:

“…found the golden ratio expressed in the arrangement of branches along the stems of plants and of veins in leaves. He extended his research to the skeletons of animals and the branchings of their veins and nerves, to the proportions of chemical compounds and the geometry of crystals, even to the use of proportion in artistic endeavors. In these phenomena he saw the golden ratio operating as a universal law.”

“…Zeising wrote in 1854 of a universal law “in which is contained the ground-principle of all formative striving for beauty and completeness in the realms of both nature and art, and which permeates, as a paramount spiritual ideal, all structures, forms and proportions, whether cosmic or individual, organic or inorganic, acoustic or optical; which finds its fullest realization, however, in the human form.”

so basically it’s this magic number that applies to everything in our lives…pretty crazy.

So this magic number that applies to everyone and everything is… dan dan DUN

1.61803398874989.

Not as exciting as you thought it would be, right? Numbers usually aren’t.  But I’m gonna try to incorporate this into my copywriting for a pretend print ad in a way that makes both Levi’s and this random nerdy math number cool.

Ok, here we go.

[Next to picture of jeans laid out…nothing else.]

Jeans.  They’re just jeans, right? Wrong.  To say they’re just jeans is the equivalent of saying these beauties to the left are a potato sack.  A dull, in-complex sack that people stuff potatoes into when times of famine are upon them.  Well, this isn’t what you’re looking at.  You’re looking at about 138 years of getting it right.  And we mean, mathematically speaking.  You see, each year, we weave about 12 million fibers into each other until they lock into place for eternity.  We add about 5 million buttons.  Last comes 3 million zippers.  Calling what we do “experienced” would be an understatement.  And if you think we stop there, you shouldn’t stop reading here.  Our specialized team of scientists have made sure every style of our Levi’s follows nature’s Golden Ratio.  So you can be sure that every Levi’s jean you put on has been compared to every living thing on the planet.  It has gone through rigorous measuring to ensure that every single one of our jean’s proportions are aligned with the proportions of nature.  Feel the Zen of the world as you connect to the planet and all its beings, simple by taking two steps…right leg, then left leg, into your Levi’s.

Phew….writing copy isn’t easy, but I’ll keep practicing.

