Surf Trip.  Tuesday.

I wanted to share these pictures from a morning surf at Virginia Beach on a random Tuesday.  I don’t have class until 7 pm Tuesdays, so it was pretty doable.  I knew we would be there before sunrise when we packed the cars up at 4, so I packed my camera into my camera bag and tossed it in the car.

I am beyond ecstatic I brought my camera on this morning.  I’ve never seen the sun hit the ocean in a more beautiful way, ever.  None of the sunrise photos have been edited.  They literally were gorgeous from the first snap.  And they were 10x more gorgeous, in real life before your eyes.

As I watched the sun slowly make its way up the sky, first turning the night a hint of purple, then pink, and then an streaking burst of light that seemed to be reaching out towards us at the edge of the beach, grabbing us and pulling us towards the ocean.  It slowly rose, little by little, adding a different hue of pink, purple, orange, and yellow with each centimeter climb.  My favorites are the epic, middle photos of the sunrise at its most beautiful, to me.

Seeing the slow, but extremely beautiful progress of the sun creeping its way up the sky, I realized great things take time.  This blog, sure.  Levi’s, of course.  Nothing came about overnight.  But what caught me about the sunrise (such a teary, poetic romantic right now…with nature) was that it did this every morning of every day, seen plainly and in clear view from any spot on the beach.  And then I thought how little people saw of it.  People with lives and responsibilities and careers and jobs and kids and things.  I guess stopping to cry at the sunset isn’t a priority.  But I think, once or twice a year, everyone should get to see this firsthand.  It’s free….and it’s beautiful.

So my point with all this, is that the sun, relentless and inspiring, climbs its way to the top of the sky ever so slowly every morning.  We should go and appreciate what it does a few times, when possible.  I just pictured a cute couple, leaving in a shore shack beach house, getting out of bed in what seems to be the dead of the night.  The shot cuts to jean buttons beng buttoned and jean zippers coming up.  The girl throws on a white, billowy button down.  They walk to the beach in the gripping dark, all the way to the ocean, one after the other.  The guy is wearing just Levi’s jean pants, the girl is wearing Levi’s jean shorts and her white shirt.  They start running….it doesn’t seem clear why….they’re pretty much to the ocean.  They run to a spot about ten feet from the water line and throw themselves to the ground, sitting indian style next to each other, looking expectantly, up at the sky, looking at each other smiling, then back at the sky.  Then, it happens.  A break in the black and a piercing pink sheen revealing itself on their faces, as they close their eyes, still looking up, smiling at the expectant warmth.  The next shot is them looking at a sunrise like the one I took a picture of, their silhouettes shot from the back leaving them as black cutouts amid the beautiful and powerful meeting of the ocean reflecting the lights of the sunrise.

This commercial is about Levi’s wanting you to embrace the simple beauty in life.  The kind that doesn’t have to be bought or heard through the grapevine.  It’s the kind you live, breathe in, and see for yourself.  Experience the world.  Make it yours.  I know Levi’s is about this with the campaign they have now, but a series of commercials of people going to see the wonders of the natural world would intrigue me more than just attractive people running around in Levi’s telling me to Go Forth.  I think the natural world could be a powerful image and tool in a campaign.

